Daily Prompt: Roaring Laughter

 

Daily Prompt

What was the last thing that gave you a real, authentic, tearful, hearty belly laugh? Why was it so funny?

 

Over the course of the last year, it’s hard to pick out one particular moment of pure belly laughter, when I have so many to choose from.  In all honesty (and we just had this conversation the other day) I have not, in my entire life, laughed as much as I have this past year.  I met a man, who, like everyone else has good days and bad.  However, when he’s having a good day, we’re ALL having a good day.  From the things he says to the things he does, the man has me laughing harder than I ever have.

I just knew on our first date, that he was the one.  No other man has had the capability of making me laugh to the point my stomach hurt.  Yet, this man does it on an almost daily basis.  He destroys the English language with words he makes up; knowing I have a social anxiety disorder, he just HAS to make a scene where ever we go (comical, not nasty), making me turn bright red and wanting to crawl inside myself in embarrassment.

This man is awesome.  He has managed to find the good in me and bring it to the surface through constant laughter and lightheartedness.  He surprises me with his intelligence, and when he sees the shock on my face, his famous line is “I’m not just good looking ya know…”  To hear my son belly laugh at his antics is music to my ears.  He’s a grown man yet can interact with my son in a way no other man has been able to.

Ever been to Moe’s restaurant?  Well, forget it!  Between the 2 of them yelling “Welcome to Moe’s!!” every time someone walks through the door has the whole place in stitches.  His voice is so deep and my son’s, high pitched.

So you want a moment?  That I can’t give you.  What I can give you, is the past 11 months.  There is laughter EVERYDAY. Whether a small giggle or a gut wrenching belly laugh, there is laughter in our house everyday, and I LOVE it!!  This past year has been simply the best of my life.  It’s so easy to focus on the negative and point and place blame.  But when you sit back and reflect and actually look for the positive, life becomes a bit sweeter.

Before he leaves for work every morning, he warms my heart by leaving tiny, soft kisses all over my face, making me smile form the inside out.  When he comes home from work, he tells us about his day and how all the “men” he works with are a bunch of girls, afraid to get their hands dirty.  Again, the made up words… there is never a dull moment with this man.  And that is why I can’t give you ONE incident… I can give you 11 months worth.  I can’t even begin to tell you how many times I have begged him to stop whatever it was he was saying or doing because my stomach hurt so badly.  I actually get stomach cramps from laughing.  Life is good…

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Roaring Laughter

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

