(DPC) Kill ’em with Kindness

Honey versus Vinegar

“Small moments of kindness peak through our everyday lives, from your neighbors’ “Good morning!” to a surprise “I’ll take care of that for you” at the office. This week, we want you to explore what that kindness means to you, and share it with others.” 


I have written several blogs so far, about how I grew up the youngest of 3, and have acknowledged repeatedly that I was, in fact, an annoying, bratty little sister.  I was consumed with envy, jealousy, anger and any other negative emotion you could think of.  This obstructed my vision enough to prevent me from seeing any kindness expressed towards me.  I wasn’t able to be grateful. 

Now that I’m older, and have a steady head on my shoulders, I can say with all honesty, I would rather be the one expressing kindness.  I want to lead by example.  If my son sees me going out of my way to be kind, he’ll repeat it.  I can’t quite explain what it does to me, to be able to do something for someone else.  It’s in no way to boost my ego.  I don’t feel as though being kind puts me on a higher rung on the evolutionary ladder.  It simply feels good to do good. 

I guess since I started my journey of self discovery, I learned what it is to be truly grateful.  Day by day, the value of material things decreases, and the value of words, and random acts of kindness increases.  To hear the words “I love you,” for example.  Three years ago, it was kind of expected, and became over used; to the point that they truly had no meaning.  Now… Now I LOVE to hear those words and know the power and emotion behind them.

I don’t follow the bible.  I’ve tried reading it several times, but for arguments sake, let’s just say I’m not of any particular religion.  I do know that somewhere in that particular book, it states “Love thy neighbor.”  What happened to that?  I know growing up that my parents looked out for our neighbors and they did the same in return.  Whether it was to borrow a cup of sugar, or an egg, or to watch their kids, they loved their neighbors.  Today, people are so closed off and quick to judge.  I left my apartment today for a doctors appointment.  There’s a house across from us that is made up of a very large family (at least 3 generations) whose skin color is darker than mine.  The oldest male of the family walks to the mailboxes at the end of our long driveway, pushing an empty wheelchair to keep him from falling, everyday.  He’s always scowling.  Well, today, as we drove by, I smiled and waved.  I could literally see the surprise on his face!!  After it registered, he smiled back and waved like a child flagging down the ice cream truck.  It was adorable!  Perhaps he’s under constant pressure living with so many people; maybe he’s always got a lot on his mind; maybe his neighbors have never been friendly.  For whatever reason, the man always looks angry.  I got to see a different side of him today, and it felt good.  I think he felt good too. 

For the majority of my life, I have taken kindness for granted.  I’ve made quite a few assumptions, and paid some pretty hefty prices.  I’m now grateful for everything I have.  The more grateful I am, it seems the more I receive.  I ultimately started to blog to do the “Letters of Gratitude” with a few of my friends.  I’ve done 30 days and then some.  I am well aware of gratitude, and want to share it!!  Going out of your way to be kind doesn’t have to cost a dime, and it doesn’t hurt a bit!  It’s so nice to know that I can be the reason someone smiles on this day.  I am capable of bringing that light hearted joy to the surface of a complete stranger.  It’s very powerful.  My description doesn’t give the actual feeling justice.  There just aren’t any other words or ways to describe it.

I would strongly encourage everyone who comes across this blog to just do it.  Make a habit of it.  You’ll find that even if you’re feeling down, when you go out of your way to do a random act of kindness for someone else, it kind of lifts your own spirits.  There are far too many angry people in the world.  I don’t want to be one of them.  Happiness IS a choice, and not only do I choose to be happy, but I choose to share it as well.  🙂

~Kate

4 thoughts on “(DPC) Kill ’em with Kindness

  1. We love your blog.The way it is put together is fantastic.We love positive people.
    Take a look at our other site some time:www.allaboutmanners.wordpress.com
    Thanks for submitting your poetry at:www.poetreecreations.org we would love to see more!

    Like

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

