Moderating Comments…

nasty2

Isn’t it sad that some of us feel the need to moderate any and all comments sent in response to our posts?  Are there really that many people out there spewing hatred and nastiness that we have to screen the comments?  I won’t hesitate to approve a comment giving me constructive criticism, however, if you’re writing to tell me I’m crazy and off my rocker, why bother?  Do you think I’m actually going to approve that?  The reason I even bring this up, is because so many comments I make on other blogs go right into “Awaiting Moderation.”  That makes me mad.  Are people writing nasty things to you too, that you feel you have to moderate each comment?  This website should be nothing but positive feedback, even if it’s constructive criticism!  You can let someone know of a writing error without being nasty.  No?  If you’re full of piss and vinegar, maybe you don’t belong on here.  If you’ve got nothing but nastiness to say, go away…  We don’t want, nor do we need it.  Just because YOU’RE miserable doesn’t give you (the nasty commenter) the right to attempt to bring us down.  You see, even a simple post like this is me being successful.  I’m a writer.  I’m writing a blog post.  Ding Ding Ding… that means that I’m successfully doing what I set out to do from the moment I opened my eyes this morning.  You, the nasty commenter are a failure.  You criticize, yet do nothing to improve yourself.  And I love the fact that every nasty post is FILLED with grammatical errors!!  THAT is hilarious!  Yes, you obviously don’t belong here on WordPress. 

nasty

 

I believe in one’s freedom of speech.  I believe in that freedom to speak/write whatever’s on your mind.  But if you’ve got nothing but negativity to spread amongst fellow bloggers, maybe you should get off your ass and go do something with your life, instead of sitting at your computer just looking for something nasty and bitter to say.  Then we, as a whole, wouldn’t have to moderate our feedback.  It’s not a big deal to do, but totally unnecessary.  Please, know that because of ONE individual, I moderate all of my comments.  As most of you know, as soon as I sign on and see I have comments waiting, I approve them before I even read them.  I also check my spam folder quite frequently, as some of the comments go right to there.

So, as my comment box suggests, if you can’t be kind, please be quiet.  You are doing nothing to me by leaving nasty remarks.  It’s as simple as “Delete.”  But you’re wasting my time.  And for those of you out there who moderate your comments, I think you’ll all agree.  Maybe WordPress will one day have a filter that automatically moderates comments.  If there is even a hint of nastiness to someone’s comment, it goes right in the trash.

I feel bad for those who have to moderate and wish that there weren’t so many nasty people in the world.  Misery loves company, but this is one chick who refuses to succumb to such negativity and childish behaviors.

nasty3

 

Happy Blogging everyone!  I hope you all have a great day and TONS of positive comments awaiting your approval.

Until next time…

~Kate (The one person who would LOVE to moderate ALL comments so that you wouldn’t even have to know they were there…) 

3 thoughts on “Moderating Comments…

  1. I moderate the comments to my blog too! But truth is, it was a default setting, and i thought it was good so i didn’t change it. 😛 Anyways moderation is good to have. 🙂

    Like

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

