3 Weeks in Paradise

Daily Prompt: Fictional Intruder…

Go down the rabbit hole with Alice; play quidditch with Harry Potter; float down the river with Huck Finn… If you could choose three fictional events or adventures to experience yourself, what would they be?


Let me start by saying one day is simply not enough.  So, I’m spending a week with each.

I would start with Caroline Ingalls.  She was such a proper woman, raising children and being a good wife.  Living in a time I’d love to go back to.  When pollution from vehicles wasn’t an issue; when the doctor came right to your house and you weren’t just a number.  Insurance companies didn’t exist and you could pay with a batch of freshly laid eggs or a bag of home grown potatoes.  A little town, but a close knit community.  If the teacher punished your child with the smack of a ruler, there was no talk of lawsuits, and an additional punishment awaiting your child when he or she returned home from school.  I would love to spend a week in this small town, getting to know these people, and telling them what the future holds.  Cell phones and Facebook, a VW Beetle and a Porsche, terrorist attacks, everyone suing everyone else, hate crimes, etc.  Could you imagine the surprise on their faces?

Next I’d be off to visit Bella and Edward (only because I had to pick 3 and at one point I was a die hard Twilight fan).  I’d love to be in the mix of vampires and werewolves, knowing of course that my life was as sacred as Bella’s.  I think clinging to the back of a vampire and flying through trees as naturally as one would play hopscotch would be pretty freaking cool.  I’d go for a walk to town for breakfast lunch and dinner though… maybe taking Jacob  with me as a means of protection.

Lastly, I’d spend one relaxing week with Diane Lane, Under the Tuscan Sun, helping her to fix her house, sharing a glass of wine over dinner and escaping all the problems currently residing, quite comfortably in my lap.   I know we can’t run away from our problems, but a break from them all would be so nice.  Especially if that escape meant time in a vineyard, time with someone who I could relate to, time in a pace I’ll probably never get to witness for myself.  A place so simple, yet magnificently beautiful.  I could do without the snakes and storms though, thank you very much.  And since this is my trip, I’ll plan it when I know neither are in the forecast.  Tell me this wouldn’t be awesome…

~Kate

2 thoughts on “3 Weeks in Paradise

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

