Um HELLO?!

Daily Prompt: Full Disclosure

A mad scientist friend offers you a chip that would allow you to know what the people you’re talking to are thinking. The catch: you can’t turn it off. Do you accept the chip?


Again… Um HELLO?  Of COURSE I would accept the chip!  I’m so paranoid about what everyone REALLY thinks of me.  I used to work at a coffee/convenient store.  I still go in (I’m going as soon as I write this).  As soon as I leave the store, I always wonder what they’re all saying about me.  If you haven’t noticed, self confidence is something I’m severely lacking.  I’m working on it, through blogging actually (showing someone outside of my parents my actual work), but it’s a slow process.

After I have dinner at someone’s house, a few days later the rumors start.  I ignore them of course, but you know what they say… “There’s a little truth to every rumor.”  So, yes, I would grab that chip in an instant.  That way, I’d no longer have to wonder.

Haven’t you ever been in a situation where you thought for a brief moment “Is this person reading my mind?”  and didn’t it scare the hell outta you?  Well, I’m tired of wondering, and I’m even more tired that people know what I’m thinking by my facial expressions.  Not too many realize that what they say and what their face tells me are completely opposite.  So I never know what to believe.  I’ve been hurt so many times because I believed what was said, when in fact, what the other person thought was different.  To not have to worry… now that would be awesome!

And in the same vein, after getting bullied on his Playstation and coming out in tears, I tell my 11-year-old son “What other people think of you is none of your business.”  See?  I really am trying.  If I can drill all of these positive messages into my head as well as my son’s, there would be no need for a chip.  But, again, I’m not there yet.  So, until I get there, I would LOVE to possess such a chip, let alone have a mad scientist friend.  How cool would that be?  I instantly think of Sheldon from the Big Bang Theory.  Having him over on a regular basis simply because we were friends?  Yea… this is all too much.  Now I’m going to be depressed for the rest of the day because I don’t have a mad scientist friend and because a chip like that really doesn’t exist.  Please save the nasty remarks… I’m well aware that I’ve got issues.

Have a great day fellow bloggers!!

~Kate

15 thoughts on “Um HELLO?!

  1. From what I’ve seen, many bloggers like yourself seem to look at ‘what do others think of me’ first. But, with mind reading, you would be able to be in someone’s consciousness. Would that change who you are?
    As for self-confidence, I’ve struggled with this in the past as well. I think it’s a lot about accepting yourself and realizing your insecurities do not define you.

    Like

    • I agree wholeheartedly with everything you’re saying, and maybe you have a point… maybe knowing ALL would change who I am. I’m unfortunately the forever optimist though. I try to see the good in everyone and everything. Thanks for taking the time to read this and the feedback you’ve offered. It is greatly appreciated.

      Like

  2. If you want a mad scientist friend my advice would be to hang around outside science labs with beer and/or muffins. No scientist would be able to resist that.

    I like your reason for the chip. It would make social interactions a lot easier and would force people to be a lot more honest, which let’s be honest is never a bad thing.

    (Also I started blogging for the same of reason, how are you finding it?)

    Like

    • I have been with nothing but kindness. I LOVE it!! I will admit I had one nasty follower, (a jaded ex, leaving highly inappropriate comments; hence the moderating comments) but everyone else has been so nice.

      As far ass the science friends, I wouldn’t even know where to find a science lab. I know there’s a huge one not far from me, but it’s surrounded with chain linked fences and barbed wire… not that I’ve looked or anything 😉

      Like

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

