Appropriate or not?

This post was inspired by a fellow blogger Ways Of Life and although I had every intention of taking today off from writing and reading other’s responses, and offering feedback, I simply can’t help it.  It’s on my mind, so I have to get it out.racism2

What is appropriate and what is not?  If your “Black” do I call you black, or African-American?  If you’re from India as she is, do I call you Indian (dot or feather…seriously?).  I just think that all these names are inappropriate in today’s day and age.  We are ALL human beings.  If you were born and raised in America, you’re an American?  That doesn’t define who you are any more than the color of your skin.  So, forgive me if I’m vague in my posts but I prefer (only when it’s necessary) to say that the person I’m speaking of has lighter or darker skin than mine.  It’s as simple as that. 

racism

I’m Irish, Indian, Polish, and a few others I’m sure.  What does that make me?  I’m white.  Because that’s what color my skin is.  Do you see?  By simply saying I’m white, you have no idea that I have an Irish, Indian, Polish bloodline.  The color of our skin DOES NOT DEFINE US!!!!  And neither does saying I’m Irish, Indian and Polish.  This is just the nationalities running through my veins.  My heritage, my descent.  Now, I could move to Ireland, or Poland, or join up with the Mohegan tribe my ancestors once belonged to and start living my life just as they do, being a die-hard fan of my nationality, but it doesn’t change who I am as a person.

I guess what it boils down to is… I don’t understand the ignorance that comes with racism.  I cannot tolerate racism of any form: skin color, sexual preference, etc.  I have been diagnosed with mental illness because of my anxiety issues, and yet someone without a diagnosis refers to me as being crazy.  Is this racism?  I think it’s cruel, unnecessary and time for people to wake the hell up.  At the end of the day, regardless of our skin color, our sexual preferences, or our mental stability, WE ALL BLEED RED.  We ALL come from a Source of such power that words cannot define.  Imagine you and this Source in a room together.  Would you be able to stand there with a clear conscience?  Or would you feel shame in the fact that at some point in your life, you have in fact insulted one of this Source’s creations?  I’m not trying to be religious, or offend anyone of a particular race, color or sex.  I’m just trying to say, I guess, that I’m so tired of racism.  I don’t like being labeled, and I don’t imagine anyone else does either.  Slapping a label on someone does not define who they are.  It’s like a jar of sauce.  Is it Prego, Ragu, or Bertolli?  Does it matter?  They’re all pasta sauce!  For crying out loud people, WE are all human beings!!  Enough with the labels.  Enough with the name calling.  Enough with the segregation!  I am so tired of hearing how our government is the one who decides who we can love and marry and who we cannot. 

say-no-to-racism

And why do they get to decide who’s “allowed” in our country and who’s not (massive border patrol).  I’m sure there are plenty of people in Mexico who would very happily come into this country and do the work of three men in one day, getting a job done and then some.  That would FURTHER the production of companies making them more successful, and putting all of these men and woman doing the absolute minimal amount of work possible (just so they don’t get fired), to shame.  Yet we keep them out.  We pay millions of dollars with border patrol when the people trying to come in, who happen to be human beings, are only looking to better their lives and are willing to work hard.  We have become lazy as a society, and at the end of the day feel we are entitled to SOMETHING, and for what?  Because we are American?  Pssshhhh

Bottom line… this racism crap has got to stop!!!!  It is non-sense and when you display even an inkling of it, it goes to show how truly ignorant you really are. 

racism1

If I have offended anyone, I’m sincerely sorry.  That was not my intention.  I want nothing but peace, kindness and the knowledge that even though we have a different shade of skin, or a different family dynamic, we can still be neighbors and we can still be kind.  Okay… I guess that was a rant.  Look at that.  I AM getting the hang of blogging.

Wishing you ALL, no matter where you are from, what your skin color is or who you choose to love in life, a day filled with peace, happiness and love.

Until next time…

~A very annoyed Kate

9 thoughts on “Appropriate or not?

  1. Keep that strong voice alive. I agree Kate. There should be an end to this labelling theory. I read in sociology that some labels stick with your forever and aid in how you think of yourself. So if you call someone dark, they might be offended but it will also cause them to be insecure because it’s made to sound like an insult. One should be careful with words.
    Okay I’m tweeting this!

    Like

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

