Love Thy Neighbor

Over the past few weeks I’ve mentioned quite a few times, the phrase “Love Thy Neighbor.”  Well, we got some disturbing news yesterday.  Our neighbor was in a severe motorcycle accident.  All we know is that he’s in a medically induced coma and he lost one of his legs.

This young man MIGHT be 30 if that, and he’s a truck driver.  In a matter of moments, life as he knew it is over.  Our neighbor on the other side of us is keeping us informed (ironically, she’s his nurse) and has told us that there have been several “fights” in the emergency room; girls fighting over him.  Apparently he has quite the following in the female relationship department.  As this poor guy’s life hangs in the balance, these girls are creating a scene at the hospital.  Then they show up here, at his apartment at all hours of the day and night, slamming things around. 

 

I guess I’ve got a few questions here.  What HAS happened to the concept of loving our neighbors?  What has happened to us to make us believe that we can own another person?  What happened to looking out for those in need?  While he is completely out of it, these girls are coming here trashing his apartment because they’ve “been played.”  He’s a young man.  That’s what young men do.  I believe it’s called sewing your wild oats.  So, never mind the fact that this man may never climb the stairs that lead to his home, ever again.  Never mind that as his life hangs in the balance, some immature girls just HAVE to start a fight outside of his room claiming “He loves me more.”  Never mind the fact that IF he makes it through this horrible accident, he’s got a very long road to recovery ahead of him.

 

This whole situation has me completely disgusted.  People in general have me disgusted.  Yes, I admit I’m an introvert, but even if I weren’t, can you blame me for not wanting to leave my house?  THIS is what awaits outside.  Lovely.  I just can’t get over the sheer ignorance of some people.  His family is at his side, grieving.  Give them their privacy!  Go outside, introduce yourselves, find out how you can help.  Yes, the spotlight’s on you.  You all got your 15 minutes of fame at the expense of some young man who may or not make it.  What the hell is this world coming to.

 

Well, on a more positive note (as I try to find something positive in everyday) I got myself a wireless printer today, and I’m thanking God my hubby knows how to set this stuff up.  I was going to just go to the library and print out my submissions there, but they have to be postmarked by August 1st, and the hubby and I are going away to celebrate our anniversary.  So… cross your fingers and say a prayer that I get this right.  The writing I’m submitting brought tears to some readers eyes, so wish me luck as well!  Winning this contest would be HUGE for me.

 

Okay… off for an evening stroll with the love of my life.  Hope you all have a great night!!

 

Happy blogging, and until next time…

~Kate…a very sad and disappointed Kate

3 thoughts on “Love Thy Neighbor

    • I wish he was just in pain, but according to the nurse, his life is hanging in the balance; and here this group of girls stands outside his room fighting over who he loves more. It makes me sick. So, I wish is something as simple as he’s in a lot of pain but will be home shortly. No. He’s got a very long (years) road to recovery, IF he survives the daily surgeries, as the doctors keep finding things wrong with him. Yesterday it was a punctured lung from a cracked rib. My heart goes out to him and his family. I wish these girls would just get the hell out of the hospital and stay out. They certainly aren’t helping ANYONE, acting the way they are.

      Like

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

