(DP) My mind will forever be 18

Daily Prompt: Age-Old Questions

“Age is just a number,” says the well-worn adage. But is it a number you care about, or one you tend (or try) to ignore?


As soon as I read this, my mind went in several different directions.  So, this is going to be fun.  Lengthy maybe, but fun.  I hope you’ll stay with me for the length of this journey…

I’m 35.  In my head, I’m still 18.  Well, this weekends trek through downtown Boston reminded me that although I might FEEL 18, my body certainly is not.  My legs ache, I’m exhausted, and I could use a nap (one thing I haven’t done in a very long time).

Let’s see… when I was a child, I couldn’t wait to be considered an adult.  Signs of adulthood were (through my child eyes) when you could come home from work jingling coins in your pocket, as my father always would.  So, loose change in your pockets = adult.  Couldn’t wait to be 13.  Finally a REAL teenager!  Sweet 16?  Then 18 so I could legally buy cigarettes and lotto scratch offs so I didn’t have to bother my neighbor any longer. 21 so I could legally drink, although to this day I despise drinking.  I just don’t enjoy it the way others seem to.  So, in a nut shell, yes, age has always (until now) been significant, and not just a number.

However, now, the only way I see age is in fact nothing but a number.  It saddens me to know of grown adult men acting like little school girls, gossiping on the playground.  So, as much as I’d like to say age plays a significant factor in one’s maturity level would be wrong.  One of my best girl friends is 24.  I talk to her about everything, and she’s offered some sound advice.  My boyfriend is a few years older than me, and very wise.  When I think of age, it IS just a number.  It is intellect I seek.  I don’t care if you’re 24, 44, or 84.  As long as you can have an intelligent conversation, or are eager to learn, and your life doesn’t revolve around the immaturity of gossip and rumors, you are more than welcome in my circle, regardless of age.

But you know what they say… with age comes wisdom.  I don’t believe this.  I think that my 24 year old girl friend is wise beyond her years!  It is through experience that we learn; living life, taking chances, risks that we don’t allow the “what if’s” to stop.  So, my opinion of age really has changed over the course of my life.  I once thought my age defined me; now I know better.  With age being nothing but a number, I couldn’t be less interested in how old you are.  I’m more interested in WHO you are, your life stories, what happened to make you the person you’ve grown to be.  Your age doesn’t define you one bit.  If we think we’re 80, we’re going to feel like we’re 80.  That is why I will forever be 18 in my mind.  I want to be active!  I want to live life!  My philosophy is, thoughts become things.  So, if we dwell on the fact that we’re X number of years old, our brains will start making us feel that way.  I’ll stick with 18, thank you very much!

Peace, Love and Happiness, Always, (No matter how young or old you are)

~Kate

3 thoughts on “(DP) My mind will forever be 18

  1. G’day Kate,

    Well said, it’s interesting understanding the way different people come to their conclusions.
    I personally don’t go with numbers I don’t relate to years past, present or in the future, fore me age is a momentary feeling related to the particular day, time or circumstance one is occupying at any given moment. The abandonment and idiocy of playtime with a little one or even a puppy, verses the serious conversation of a bank merger, it’s enjoying the ability to adapt to surrounding circumstances that is far more important to me than any date on a calendar

    Like

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

