(DP) Hmmmm what would I do?

Daily Prompt: Back to Life

After an especially long and exhausting drive or flight, a grueling week at work, or a mind-numbing exam period — what’s the one thing you do to feel human again?


As if this didn’t just happen with our drive to Boston.  😀  So, instead of telling you what I WOULD do, I’ll tell you what I DID.  We pulled into our parking spot, got out of the car, stretched our legs and walked around a bit.  I grabbed the goodie bag (full of everything we’d purchased) while Bill, the forever gentleman, grabbed all our luggage and we came inside, dumping the bags on the living room floor.  There were sighs of relief to be home, as the traffic was horrible and the storms we drove through probably were Xanax size storms, but I toughed it out, (Go me!) 

Once inside my mom and my son wanted to hear everything and see pictures, so once that was done, Bill grabbed his tablet, I grabbed my book and out we went.  We sat outside enjoying the cool air the storms had carried in, the quiet of our neighborhood and the company of each other.  I don’t think either one of us were prepared to come home, we were having so much fun.  But now we know for next year that we’re taking a whole week off, and Ryan’s coming with us.  Extremely grateful that our anniversary falls over summer vacation!!

Once we got back inside we put clothes away, separated dirty laundry, and got back into the swing of life.  Personally, I think businesses should offer employees more vacation time each year.  It is during this time where employees can relax and recharge their batteries.  Being a boss, Bill’s employees weren’t too happy about seeing him return (because he actually makes them work) but to their surprise, Bill wasn’t as hard on them because he had this time away and was able to just relax.  I say we start a nationwide petition for more vacation time!!

~Kate

2 thoughts on “(DP) Hmmmm what would I do?

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

