Frankie and Johnny

Daily Prompt: Missing Seqeuls

If you could create a sequel to one favorite (standalone) movie, which would it be? How would it build on the original?


I’ve come to realize that far too many movies have sequels these days, just for the sake of bringing in more money.  For example, the movie Transformers.  We’re on number 4, and by Optimus Prime’s last statement alone, we KNOW there’s going to be a number 5.  This, to me anyway, is a bit excessive.  I’m hoping that by the time number 5 comes out, my son will no longer have an interest in them.  Rio?  Cloudy with a chance of meatballs?  Why?  Why can’t producers today stick to one story and leave it at that?  Greed!  That’s why.  As each sequel comes out, the story line diminishes, the violence increases and we waste a lot of money and time.

However, if there was one movie I would encourage a sequel to, it would be Frankie and Johnny.  I would love to know what became of them.  Did they stay together?  Did they have children?  Was their love true or was it just lust driving them to be together?  So, yes, I would strongly encourage a sequel to this movie, but no one knows of this movie, as it was produced years ago.  So, maybe I’ll write the sequel.  Maybe they DID find true love in that restaurant, maybe they went on to get married and have grandchildren now!  Oh… I think I found a writing plan for today.  Thank you very much!

~Kate

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

