Hot Potato Salad with cold Macaroni Salad

Daily Prompt: Unlikely Pairing

Bacon and chocolate, caramel and cheddar… Is there an unorthodox food pairing you really enjoy? Share with us the weirdest combo you’re willing to admit that you like — and how you discovered it.


I can’t say there are any weird combos per say, however, there is a weird craving I get in the summer time.  Potato Salad and macaroni salad… BUT…

1.  They have to be in a bowl, together.

2.  The potato salad goes in first, and is put in the microwave to make it nice and warm.

3.  Then I add the macaroni salad.

The mixture of hot and cold, in combination with the flavors, is mouth-watering.

Sometimes, when I’m feeling a bit adventurous, I add a scoop of cottage cheese with chives.  It’s simply amazing.  FAVORITE summertime combo ever!!

Now, how did I discover this?  Well, when I was a child, my mother would make potato salad, and let me lick the beaters.  I just prefer warm potato salad.  Once it was on my plate, it accidentally got some macaroni salad and potato salad on the same forkful and fell in love with it.  Now, I can’t have it any other way.  Odd?  Nope.  More like unique.  It’s just one of several quirks I have that me who I am.  So, I think I’m going to go whip up a batch of both right now and have them with some steaks on the grill for dinner.  Or… since I’m not supposed to leave the couch, I’ll make it later in the week.  Regardless, I’ll have them both at some point this week.

Happy Eating Everyone!!

~Kate

One thought on “Hot Potato Salad with cold Macaroni Salad

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

