Mental Illness

I tried to re-blog a post from http://takingthemaskoff.com/ but it’s not allowing me to.  I was diagnosed at 18 years old as being mentally ill.  Then, at 30 something with another slew of disorders.  Along with this, I was diagnosed as an HSP.  Being HSP, my body is extremely sensitive to ANYTHING I put in it.  I’m allergic to Benadryl!  It’s easier to tell you what I’m NOT allergic to.  Anyway, I was a lab rat for doctors and pharmaceutical companies for years!  When one med stopped working, they’d add on another.  I reached a point where I had had enough and began to slowly wean myself off of EVERYTHING (except Xanax, as it’s the only thing that gets me through a severe anxiety attack).  I no longer feel “mentally ill” but rather an individual.  My mind doesn’t work like everyone else’s, because I am not a sheep.  I refuse to be a sheep.  I am teaching my son how not to be a sheep.  Being a sheep is the cowards way!  It’s safe and secure and comfy and cozy.  And TOTALLY not for us.  Why blend in when you were born to stand out?  We (my son and I) were born to stand out, not to lead a heard of sheep.  After we get through an incident of breaking the confines of conformity, I have heard my son say “Bahhhh” under his breath.  It’s similar to f-off, and I should probably scold him for it, but all I can do is smile.  It’s my job to teach him.  His “Bahhh” means that he’s paying attention to what I teach him; he listens and absorbs.  I smile because I’m proud.  HE will grow to be educated not medicated.  I would highly recommend you all take a look at this blog post and let the education begin.

I’m not here to start a war.  There are some people that NEED medication and I will not dispute that.  However, there are so many people (including children) who are medicated simply for profit, or because parents don’t know how to deal with the traumatic events that caused their children to be in distress.  Let’s turn these people into zombies so we don’t have to deal with them any more.  That no longer flies with me.  Because my doctors prescribed so many different medications for me, I have been called a pill popper, crazy, mentally ill and a drug addict, just to name a few.  All because I trusted my doctors.  Not any more…  And I will not allow the same thing to happen to my son.  When I read that blog to my son, his response was “Don’t worry mom.  I’m a lion.  Lion eat sheep.”  I have all the confidence in the world that my son is going to go places.  He is going to soar in life.  Whatever he decides to do, he’s going to excel at.  He’s embracing his individuality and I LOVE IT!!!

PLH4

~Kate…a mom who refuses to medicate her child because she can’t handle him, Kate.

13 thoughts on “Mental Illness

  1. I was extremely hyper as a kid and someone said I surely probably had ADD or something like that. I am glad my parents chose not to drug me though, even though I had a somewhat rough childhood. I think that ADD doesn’t actually exist, it is a term that describes how children actually act. Some kids are more naturally hyper then others.
    I have also had panic attacks growing up and I went through a phase of being severely allergic to everything I ate. I ended up going on a purge diet for a few years and eventually my body was able to handle normal foods again.

    Like

    • I agree. I don’t think ADD or ADHD are as severe as the doctors make it out to be. Compare the rates from 20 years ago to today. The number of cases has more than tripled. I think it’s just easier to diagnose a child and medicate them than it is to get to the root of the problem. Why is the child so hyper? How is his or her sugar intake? How much time do they spend in front of electronics? You see, I think a lot of has to do with the parenting as well. If a doctor told me my son had ADD and needed to be medicated, I’d laugh in his face, get a second opinion of course, and in the meantime, spend more time outside with him, exerting more energy. I’m not a doctor. I’m a mom. I happen to know my child better than anyone; including the doctor who sees him for all of 5 minutes every 3 months or so. I know what’s best for my son and it’s NOT medication. I’m not saying this applies to every child. Maybe ADD IS real. Maybe there are a handful of genuine cases. But I think instead of getting the whole picture, the docs just want to medicate instead of finding the cause. Greed, laziness, and we wonder what the heck happened to this generation. We trust doctors, and we zombify our children so we don’t have to face reality. Perhaps one mom stayed with an abusive boyfriend, ad the son was exposed to horrible things both said and done. He’s suffering on the inside. Not because he has ADD, but because he’s been exposed to many things children shouldn’t be exposed to. Instead of dealing with the trauma, it’s so much easier to shove a pill down his throat and make him shut up. Makes me very sad…

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes I agree with what you’re saying. I mean especially to think of giving heavy time drugs to little children! Children unless really really sick, in my opinion should not have their bodies taxed with drugs. Their bodies are still developing in a way adult bodies are not, and having something tax the liver say in order to process the drug (though not to mention what these drugs are doing to a brain) to me sounds likely that it would have long term affects in children as their livers are still developing…
        So yeah, I would say when it comes to drugs and children, it would have to be something very carefully thought about. And the fact that doctors seem to prescribe ADD and ADHD type drugs to children so willy-nilly to me speaks very poorly on how responsible the doctors are as a whole in this country.

        Like

  2. Ah we could be twins! Although not the HSP – I asked a psychologist friend of mine why every child was being given ritalin – she had no answer other than the parents took drugs? Hello? What are we doing to ourselves. My son too has inherited the family curse – he’s 33 now. We are not plain vanilla. I homeschooled him because I did not want him to conform. If you look out there, why would you want to be like that???? You are such a kindred spirit Kate – and I say Namaste!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was going to home school my son for the up coming school year, but didn’t get the paperwork submitted on time, nor can I afford the books. So, I have to work a little harder. I tell him to look around. Do YOU want to be a sheep? He observes everything, so I know he can clearly see what I’m talking about. He’s very smart. We’ve SO got this. It is through MY “experience” that I am teaching him. Maybe he won’t make the same mistakes I did (spend years being a people pleaser, and a lab rat to doctors). We can only hope…

      Like

      • I’m trying to teach my son about that as well. He’s only 11, so I can’t throw it all at him at once, but when I see him being a people pleaser, I call him out on it. I have the exact action as an example. We go over how it makes him feel (he always says happy at first, but the more we deep, the worse he feels.) So, a people pleaser he will not be!! I won’t allow him to waste so many years doing for others, when those same people would never do for him. He has a very rough ahead of him, as life is not easy. I just hope he has the inner strength NOT to succumb to peer pressure, and those sorts of things while he’s in school. SO far, so good. Thank you so much for your confidence. I’m a single mom and sometimes the words of my ex come back to haunt me … “You’re going to ruin this kid! He’s going to grow up to be just a F****d up as you!” It stops me in my tracks. But, deep in my soul I know I’m doing it right. However, your support means more than you know. Love you too!!
        ~Kate

        Like

      • I think the thing I’d do is ask what he wants, does he want to go to school or homeschool? There are trade offs in both cases. At home you’ll still need to have him do a lot of work as well, but you get to decide the structure yourself. While some may worry that it will take too much time on the parent, I have heard as the child get’s older they end up going through more of the material themselves and then you help where it’s needed.
        But the downside is the lack of people your child will be around. I personally would have definitely chose homeschool and being alone over school, but I was a shy loner type. So it probably depends.
        I don’t know about other people but I abhorred how much of my time school took and was always confident that if I was allowed to be doing the work at home I could do it in less time and leaving myself the needed time to get away from things. But I as I said am not most people, and have always wanted a lot of time to myself.

        Like

      • My son cried when he found out I wasn’t able to home school him. He desperately wanted me to because he’s EXTREMELY sensitive and cries quite a bit. Well, I’m sure can think back o junior high and how cruel kids can be to boys who cry. Also, the cost of the materials is not something I can easily afford. So, I instead, have kept him in karate, have told him REPEATEDLY that he is not to start fights (I don’t think he even has it in him to do so) but that he has my permission to end them. I have seen him at every karate class. He already possesses the strength and determination to take a much larger kid down. HOWEVER, I’m not one to promote violence. So, we talk about this a lot in my house. I don’t want my son getting a reputation for being a fighter, but I’m tired of the videos he brings home of him getting beat up, and the school not doing anything about it. So, this year is going to be a tad bit different. He’s getting a restricted hall pass, allowing him to leave class 4 minutes early, so the chances of him running into a bully are lessened. I’m meeting with his guidance counselor t kind of hand pick his schedule. And I’m on top of EVERYTHING. He has a lot more confidence this year than he had last year.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. My admiration for the inner strength I sense in your words and my respect for the way you choose to raise, educate and love your son. He’s lucky to have you in his life and you’ll see that all the struggles from your past (the medication, the diagnosis, the feeling of being another “experiment” in a world that cannot understand how you truly feel…) were not in vain…You will help and educate others, people who may be too vulnerable or lonely to defend or to speak for themselves.
    Thank you for following my blog, I’m honored and I feel blessed to read yours.
    Wishes of inspiration, courage and love,
    Carissa

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for leaving such a kind, positive response. I’m honored to have you. It seems as though you haven’t had an easy time with life as well. We all need to stick together!! ❤

      ~Kate

      Like

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

