An everyday thing in my house…

Daily Prompt : Second Opinion

What are some (or one) of the things about which you usually don’t trust your own judgment, and need someone’s else’s confirmation?

I have been called so many things, I’ve lost count.  One was that I’m a horrible mother; that I’ve brainwashed my child.  That stopped me in my tracks.  Whoa!  I never intended to do anything but the best for my son, so why are you saying this?  This thought would spend days rolling around in my head.  I internalized it, I was curious to know if the troll saying it was accurate in ANY way.  I finally (after speaking to several people, my mental health doctor included) have reached a conclusion.  I am an awesome mom.  It’s called self projection.  They know they aren’t good parents, so instead of taking accountability and changing things, they project their own disappointments onto me.  It took quite some time to figure that out.  I wanted/needed to know that I was doing only right by my son.  According to all that I’ve asked, I’m an excellent mom, and Ryan is lucky to have me in his life.  Without me, he’d be left in a house with constant tension, as no one is happy, screaming and yelling all the time, name calling, secrets, just to give you an idea.  I can’t do anything about them.  I can’t force anyone to take accountability for their actions.  I can however do something about how I handle the negative talk/emails I seem to be receiving on a regular basis.  Lean back…don’t absorb it.  It’s nothing more than self projection unhappiness, in which, I happen to now let go right past me. As silly as it may sound coming from an adult, sticks and stones, trolls… sticks and stones.  I am one hell of a mother, Ryan is lucky to have me, AND I am extremely blessed to have him.  We love our life exactly as it is, and your opinions can go right back up your bum from where they originated.

Hope all of my fellow bloggers have a wonderful day!!

PLH4

~Kate

3 thoughts on “An everyday thing in my house…

  1. G’day Kate,
    At the end of the day the only opinion that counts is yours, if you are doing what you think is the best for your son, and he is happy being with you, don’t let the negative opinions of others get under your skin. He will learn from you how to deal with this sort of criticism and that can only stand him in good stead in later years … life is full of depreciators

    Like

    • I have to be honest and say that for some reason, the names his father has called me always seemed to bother me. I never could understand why. When we were married yes, but after we got divorced… why would they? Well, I had a nice talk with an old friend last night. She told me she was in a similar situation. Her daughter’s father keeps saying horrible things about her to her daughter. It drove my friend crazy. So, she had a talk with her daughter, told her that her father is trying to brainwash her, and if she doubts anything, to come directly to her and she will prove him wrong. So, I will have that same conversation with my son. His father is trying to convince him that I am a horrible person, my boyfriend is a horrible person, we aren’t fit to be parents. My ex called CPS (Child protective Services on me (several times). They come in, we talk they leave I get a letter 3 days later saying UNFOUNDED/DISMISSED. They have had their children taken away from them. He (without a court order) dropped my son off on my mother’s front step with my son crying hysterically because they couldn’t handle my son. I’m done with the name calling. The fact that my ex can mock the death of my boyfriends son? That was the last straw. I can not, nor will I ever, speak or email that “man” again. Who says things like that?! His son is disgusted with him as well. Good luck fixing this one idiot! Thanks Muzzy. I appreciate your kind words.

      Like

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

