All that I’ve found/learned in 35 Years

I’ve found that growing up does in fact suck.  Looking forward to each birthday until I’m considered an adult, without realizing that once I’m an adult, I can’t look forward to each birthday as I get younger.  I wish I spent more time enjoying being a kid.

I’ve found that being a people pleaser will ultimately kill you; especially if you’re at a party.

I’ve learned that there are depths to our souls that are black, with no hopes of light in sight.

I’ve learned to climb out of those depths (with the help of family and friends) to come to life a new person.

I’ve learned that we all possess a certain inner strength we aren’t aware of until the time comes when we need it. (You don’t know how strong you are until fighting is your only option.)

I’ve learned that fairy tale happiness does in fact exist.  And that it feels exactly as I’ve always imagined.

I’ve learned that I’m not as alone in this big crazy world as I once believed.  And I’m thankful for those of you on the same journey I am.

I’ve learned peace over anger; love over hate, kindness over revenge, Karma, (both good and bad). 

I’ve learned that metal illness doesn’t define you, it helps create who you become.  Perhaps with the passing of Robin WIlliams, people will start taking the matter more seriously?  I sure hope so.  I wonder if someone called him crazy?  I wonder if someone accused of him again, of mistakes he made 12 years ago?  I wonder if someone called him a pill popping drug addict, and he just couldn’t handle it anymore.  Poor soul.  But, since I am familiar with this dark place, I know the direct route to get there, and I won’t be taking it any time soon. 

I’ve learned true friendship and I’ve seen a “friend” sit right on my couch, look me in the eye and lie to me.  We are no longer friends. 

I have learned that if you treat it just right, life is a golden nugget.  It’s value cannot be measured.  We are given choices everyday.  We can sit and complain about current situations or we can get off or asses and do something to change it.  It really is as simple as that.

I’ve learned that if you do something you love to do, you will most certainly be happy.

I’ve learned that happiness, even in the worst of times, is a choice.  I’d much rather be happy.

I’ve learned that what you put out, is what you’ll get back.  So, I try to do good everyday.

I’ve learned that there are no take backs and do overs.  There’s no un-ringing the bell, or un-throwing the stone.  So I now think before I speak.

I’ve learned that as much as I’ve had to figure out on my own, I still have a lot more to learn.  I’m looking forward to the journey.  You can never be too educated.

I’m off to a day full of doctor’s appointments.  Hope you all have a great day!!

PLH5

~Kate…an eager to learn, Kate.

2 thoughts on “All that I’ve found/learned in 35 Years

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

