It would have to be a book

Daily Prompt:Matters of Taste

When was the last time a movie, a book, or a television show left you cold despite all your friends (and/or all the critics) raving about it? What was it that made you go against the critical consensus?

 

I am never without a book, and have several in reserve just in case I start to read a new one and I can’t get into it.  Not too long ago, I read the first chapter of the book, and couldn’t force myself to go on any further.  It just wasn’t something I was into.  I can’t remember the title; my apologies.  If it had been a good book, I would have remembered.  Now, just because I didn’t like it, doesn’t mean it’s a bad book.  Someone worked really hard to get that story written, and published.  It was all just a matter of opinion.  Perhaps if I tried reading it again, in a different mood, it might be a better read?  Oh well…  I will ALWAYS read one entire chapter to give the book a chance.  If I’m not drawn in by the end of the first chapter, odds are, it’s going to be a waste of time.  I just finished a book called Under the Blood by Lisa Unger.  Fantastic page turner.  I didn’t hear any rave reviews about the book.  I saw it on the shelf, read what it was about and thought I’d give it a try.  I finished it in 2 days.  I don’t think there’s anything in particular that makes me go against the critical consensus.  Like I said… it’s all a matter of opinion.  Some people may have loved the book.  I didn’t.  It’s not what I wanted to read at that time.  I’m not one to protest or try to go against the grain to stand out and make a statement.  It either flies with me or it doesn’t.  This particular book didn’t stand a chance.  Sorry…

 

Have a great day fellow bloggers!!

~Kate

6 thoughts on “It would have to be a book

  1. Yes it’s all about overall, if there is a large percent of people that will like whatever sort of book it is. Heh, like everything else on the market somewhere, it comes down to statistics. At least that is what a publisher is thinking when they look at someone’s work.

    Like

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

