Seriously?

I’m not even going to fancy this one up with blue writing and justification, etc.  Are you telling me that NO ONE has a good read to offer.  That’s just sad.  Are we a society who doesn’t read? Or do we not read books because we read blogs instead?  I thought for sure someone would have some suggestions for me.  Very disappointed…  I just counted.  I have 10 books sitting on my table, waiting to be read.  But, I’m going to have my current book finished by bedtime tonight, dropping the list down to 9.  I NEED SUGGESTIONS BLOGGERS!!!

Thanks in advance (I hope)

~Kate…a very eager for a new, good read, Kate.

And I did the fancy blue out of habit…. sorry.

20 thoughts on “Seriously?

  1. Have you ever read Bryce Courtenay? He’s a master story teller (in my opinion!). One of my all time favourite top three books is The Power of One by Mr C. He’s written plenty more – that one has a sequel (Tandia) and another favourite of his for me is Four Fires…

    Like

  2. G’day Kate,
    For over forty years I travelled to and from work on the train, each way taking at least an hour, I read a book a week over that period, mostly crime/murder mysteries the one common theme through them was I prefered the ones that involved lawylers and a court case, Last year I donated seventeen cartons of books to the red cross, each one bought new and having only been read once. I cannot reread a book, I now force myself to read 1 chapter a night no matter what time I retire.

    Like

  3. I missed the request for book ideas. I love the gunslinger series by Stephen King and a book I started by reading the 80 page preview on Amazon and now have to buy is Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo.
    I am once of those weird poor souls that have too many books started at one time. I don’t to bore with the details and the length of it, but it’s pretty bad.

    Like

    • Okay… I forgot to mention that part… Steven King scares the crap outta me. But I’ll definitely look into Shadow and Bone. And like I told Janey… please don’t forget me when you find a gem? Come back and share it, so I can grab a copy ASAP. Thanks for sharing!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I didn’t post any suggestions because based on your reading list I wasn’t sure you’d care for my choices. I rarely read non-fiction; I look at reading as my escape from REAL.

    However, that said, I am reading two books right now:

    Outlander by Diana Gabaldon and Just Add Water by Jinx Schwartz

    Outlander is a time travel tale set in Scotland in the late 1700s. Since I recently learned that my father’s ancestry has some Scottish roots, I was doubly interested.

    Just Add Water introduces Hetta Coffey, a civil engineer who lives and works in the Bay Area. In the first installment she decides she helps her friend out of a bad relationship, decides they need to learn to sail and deals with a stalker. Comedy ensues.

    I just finished a book titled The Ice Cream Queen of Orchard Street by Susan Jane Gilman. To be honest, it took me a bit to get into it; I wasn’t fond of the protagonist but later, in the interview with the author I saw that was here intent. Lillian is an anti-heroine and it’s easy to dislike her and feel sympathetic for her at the same time. The story follows Lillian beginning with her emigration to the US at 5 years old. It is at times melancholy, dramatic, and humorous. I enjoyed it a lot!

    As you can see, I have wildly different tastes; I also love a good suspense story and supernatural plots too.
    🙂

    Like

    • My preference varies from day to day. However, I’ll read just about anything. At one time in my life, (before Starbucks and Boarders and all those big time coffee/book nooks went up) I wanted to open a book store with a section where customers could sit and relax and read a good book in quiet. I wanted to start a book swap, where when I finished a book, I would pass it along, and await someone else to finish a book to pass it along to me. Even with Kindle, I prefer to have a book in my hand. I love the smell and feel of it. I’ll look into all of the ones you’ve listed (I’m writing them all down) and again, (as I told Rachel) probably order a few tonight, as my pile of unread books is getting ever smaller by the day. I dread the day I run out of books to read. My house isn’t going to be a pleasant place to be that day, I can tell you that. Thank you so much for the suggestions!! I love paranormal plots too. Kay Hooper is GREAT with her Bishop books. If you’re into psychics and that sort of stuff. She has developed a government agency made up of all different psychics, who solve crimes. LOVE her books! But I can’t say I have a favorite author or genre. It all depends on my mood, the day, my week… Sometimes I WANT a sappy romance novel and to pretend I’m the girl. Other times, these books make me sick. But I digress. Thanks so much for sharing! And please stop by and share any future gems you find? It would be greatly appreciated!!

      Like

      • Kate – another good source for reading material is BookBub (dot com). You sign up, selecting your preferences as to genre, price, etc. and they email you with limited-time free and discounted ebooks. I too prefer an actual book but my Kindle is loaded with free books from BookBub (if I recall correctly, that’s where I got Just Add Water). It’s nice to have a stockpile even in ebook form. 🙂

        Like

  5. Here’s one! I read a lot too ……. I’m reading a Broken Hallelujah about Leonard Cohen right now, but this one was highly recommended:

    The Time Inbetween by Maria Duenas

    The inspiring international bestseller of a seemingly ordinary woman who uses her talent and courage to transform herself first into a prestigious couturier and then into an undercover agent for the Allies during World War II.

    Between Youth and Adulthood…

    At age twelve, Sira Quiroga sweeps the atelier floors where her single mother works as a seamstress. At fourteen, she quietly begins her own apprenticeship. By her early twenties she has learned the ropes of the business and is engaged to a modest government clerk. But everything changes when two charismatic men burst unexpectedly into her neatly mapped-out life: an attractive salesman and the father she never knew.

    Between War and Peace…

    With the Spanish Civil War brewing in Madrid, Sira leaves her mother and her fiancé, impetuously following her handsome lover to Morocco. However, she soon finds herself abandoned, penniless, and heartbroken in an exotic land. Among the odd collection of European expatriates trapped there by the worsening political situation back on the Continent, Sira reinvents herself by turning to the one skill that can save her: her gift for creating beautiful clothes.

    Between Love and Duty…

    As England, Germany, and the other great powers launch into the dire conflict of World War II, Sira is persuaded to return to Madrid, where she takes on a new identity to embark upon the most dangerous undertaking of her career. As the preeminent couturier for an eager clientele of Nazi officers’ wives, Sira becomes embroiled in the half-lit world of espionage and political conspiracy rife with love, intrigue, and betrayal.

    An outstanding success around the world, The Time in Between has sold more than two million copies and inspired the Spanish television series based on the book, dubbed by the media as the “Spanish Downton Abbey.” In the US it was a critical and commercial hit, and a New York Times bestseller in paperback. It is one of those rare, richly textured novels that enthrall down to the last page. María Dueñas reminds us how it feels to be swept away by a masterful storyteller.

    Liked by 1 person

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

