Best thing I’ve heard in a LONG time

Ryan had his weekly mental health visit today, and for some reason (he claims he felt safer) he asked that I sit in with them.  Once we established that there were no issues he wanted to discuss in regards to me, his social worker began asking him questions.  Her first question was “School is only 2 weeks away.  What is one thing you’re looking forward to?  What are you excited about?”

Ryan’s response: “I’m happy that mom’s getting me a restricted hall pass and that since I’m not in 6th grade any more, I won’t be as big of a target as the new kids coming in.”

Social worker: “Okay.  So now, tell me one thing that you’re worried about.  What are you stressed about going into this school year?”

Tick tock….tick tock…

Ryan: “Nothing.”

MUSIC TO MY EARS!!!!  I was so afraid getting him to go back and face the one place that is of constant bullying and little response to those hurting him would make this year that much more difficult to getting him back into the swing of things.  Nope!  Not at all.  So, the long talks, the advice, the encouragement and the karate have all paid off.  Ryan is now aware of his physical capabilities and has no fear in defending himself.  He has all the confidence in the world and that brings tears to my eyes.  I am so proud of this little boy.  I told him today, that if nothing else, I am beyond proud of him because although he suffers from moderate to severe anxiety, he looks it in the eye and refuses to back down.  I am so proud of his mental strength.  No child in that school has the capabilities of breaking this kid.  He left 6th grade on the verge of a mental breakdown, and now, after an entire summer devoted to building up his self esteem and confidence, he is a freaking brick house, both mentally and physically.  A sincere thanks to the man in assisting me with this…  We love you Bill.  Thank you so much for everything you’ve done to help me, and to help Ryan.  God brought you to us at the perfect time.  Never have I been more grateful for another’s presence in my life as I am right now.  Thank you for being the man my son needs to look up to, to admire and to model himself after.  I can’t thank you enough.  I realize this isn’t what you signed up for, but the fact that you took on the role?  Leaves me absolutely speechless. 

This year will no doubt be challenging, but once again, we’ll get through it, and in the end, Ryan will be a better person when all is said and done.  I love that I can go to bed tonight so very grateful for the countless blessings I have.  I love it when all is right in our world.  When we’re all in sync, our hearts are happy and light.  Life is good, and I wish you all the same.

~Kate…one extremely grateful Kate.

2 thoughts on “Best thing I’ve heard in a LONG time

  1. That is truly great to hear!!! Worried about Nothing?!?! Yeah baby, that kid is ready. New school year? Ppppfffffff…….Bring it on people… Congrats to you both!

    Like

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

