Our own Dictionary

Uncanned Laughter

A misused word, a misremembered song lyric, a cream pie that just happened to be there: tell us about a time you (or someone else) said or did something unintentionally funny.

This is a piece of cake!  Almost everyday, this house adds a new word to our dictionary.  We think faster than we talk, creating new words.  But the funny part is, the other person/s know exactly what we mean.  For example; Bill came home from work one night, and we were discussing what to have for dinner.  The options were pizza or Chili’s.  He didn’t feel like going back out so he wanted to hype up the idea of pizza to my son.  So, he goes inside to my son’s bedroom and says “Hey Ryan, you want Chizza for dinner”?  It would have been funny if he stopped and corrected himself.  It was hysterical because he kept on talking as if he had said nothing wrong.  Chizza in our house is now cheese pizza.  Oh…I could give you so many more, but that would spoil our fun.  Just know that I’ve given some serious thought into writing a book of similar words.  We have enough of them.  And each new word brings with it a fit of hysterics. 

Happy Blogging!!

~Kate

4 thoughts on “Our own Dictionary

    • My son just reminded me of our conversation last night over dinner. We went out to eat. My son and I had finished our food, while my boyfriend was working on a bowl of chicken wings. It went something like this.
      Bill: I’m sorry. I’m eating as fast as I can.
      Me: It’s okay. Take your time. I love you sweetheart.
      Ryan: Silent…listening to our conversation.
      Minutes pass, and Bill looks at me. I’m giving him the eye.
      Bill: What’s the problem?
      Me: I said I love you and you didn’t respond.
      Bill: I’m eating. It’s rude to talk with food in your mouth.
      Me: I told you I loved you 3 chicken wings ago.
      End of discussion, as Ryan went into hysterics thinking that was THE funniest thing he had ever heard. Bill and I just smiled. When Ryan’s happy, we’re happy. But here we are 24 hours later and Ryan’s still talking about it. I LOVE silly moments, sayings and outbursts. Laughter is so good for the soul. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

