Awareness did you say? Sign me up!!

Daily Prompt: Breaking the Ice

The internet has recently been swept up by the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge. Is there a cause — social, political, cultural, or other — you passionately believe in? Tell us how you got involved — or why you don’t get involved.

I am a very strong advocate for raising awareness.  If there’s a way I can help, I’m all for it.  More often than not, I send emails to my entire family, letting them know of specific foundation.  My family is good like that.  We all donate.  And some even forward the email to friends, helping to raise awareness.  I wanted to do a BBQ over the summer to raise awareness for Scleroderma, but the summer flew by,  Now I’ve got 2 weeks left to get my son back into a routine of going to bed early and waking up early, and I have to go out and get all of his school supplies as well as a new wardrobe as he grew at least 3 inches over the summer.

Last school year, my son painted his fingernails pink in October, to support breast cancer awareness month.  It was HORRIBLE!!  He got bullied and pushed around, and came home in tears (I was waiting for that, but he insisted).  I calmed him down and went to get the nail polish remover.  When I came out with it, he said, “I’m not taking it off!”  I couldn’t believe it.  I was in shock.  He was wearing it to raise awareness AND to honor his 2nd cousin who has won the battle of breast cancer.  Well, at the end of the day, one of his teachers had heard of the incident, and returned to school the next day with HIS nails painted pink.  The story made the evening news.  My son didn’t get any recognition, but that’s not was he was after.  He had a message to send and he did it.  Now, because of him, how many more people know it’s breast cancer awareness month simply because they heard his story on the news?  Well, my guess is thousands of people watch the news, so his message was spread far greater than he initially intended.  I can’t wait to see what this October brings! 

I am leading by example, and obviously doing something right.  I love my son.  But I also love helping those in need.  A girl I went to school with has a daughter who was diagnosed with cancer.  We were friends again on Facebook, but since I deleted my account, there was no way for me to get in touch with  her to see if there was anything I could do.  So, when I heard there were #Team Kamren bracelets for sale, all proceeds go toward cancer research and Kamren’s treatment, I bought a bracelet 2 adult bracelets, 2 kid bracelets, and then a bracelet for each child in her class at school.  When I can, I give.  It’s the BEST feeling in the world!!

So, I am on a mission to raise awareness for Scleroderma.  Any advice from any of you already active in the “Raising Awareness” scene?  I’m a newbie and wouldn’t even know how to get started.  Thanks in advance!!

PLH4

~Kate…an advocate for raising awareness, Kate.

12 thoughts on “Awareness did you say? Sign me up!!

  1. Obviously you are an amazing mother and raising your son with priorities that will benefit him his entire life. If only more people could have that level of maturity that your 11 year old son has……I once read a quote on Pinterest that said, “It takes strength to stand up for yourself but a great deal more strength to stand up for others”. It’s so true. You have a lot to be proud of.

    Like

  2. To be honest, I had never heard of the disease. It seems to be an autoimmune rheumatic disease that affects mostly women according to http://www.scleroderma.org

    See, you have already raised awareness in me, my wife has Sjogren’s Disease which is also an autoimmune disease that I had never heard of until she was diagnosed. Awareness is the key, already posted this on twitter. Any little bit I can do to help, let me know

    Like

  3. Raising your son to follow his strong convictions sure shows what a powerful influence one person can have. I can hardly wait to hear about him when he is older ! Wonderful story.

    Like

    • Maybe it’s because I’m his mom and a bit biased, but I can see him standing at a podium, giving an acceptance speech; given an award. What ever he chooses to do with his life, he’s going to soar!!! And you think you can’t wait to hear about him as he gets older? This kid is full of individuality, and “Baahhhs” at anyone he feels is a sheep, stuck in societal standards. I can’t wait to see what he chooses to do. He knows the possibilities are endless. He said he wants to be a world traveler and has no desire to have children. At his age, I though you were supposed to grow up and have kids. I admit, I was a sheep. But I’m not any longer, nor is he. 🙂

      Like

  4. Ugh I hate bullying over gender norms. My son has long hair, wears a purse, and has baby dolls and Dora toys and pink shit. I wonder WHY people think that’s going to screw him up instead of helping him become a better father and person. I literally got in an argument with a little girl over whether my son was a boy or a girl and I ended up screaming at him “HE CAME OUT OF MY BODY I THINK I KNOW WHAT HE IS!!” Such a sad society=[

    Like

    • Oh man… I bought my son a doll house when he was THREE and my ex monster in law said I was going to make him gay. How do you make a person gay? And so what if he is? Are you going to love him any less? Ugh… Ignorance!!!! It drives me crazy!! Well, my son is 11 and rest assured Darlene, where ever you are, your grandson LOVES boobs!! Idiot…

      Like

  5. Love the nail polish story. Bless your son’s heart, and yours. Thank you for wanting to raise awareness about scleroderma. My sister-in-law, who is now in her fifties, has had it since she was twelve. Hers is mostly limited to her skin. It is still debilitating and brings many complications, but she is living with it. My sister’s neighbor was diagnosed as an adult. She had the type that attacks organs. She did not live long. It is a horrible disease. I don’t have any advice on how to raise awareness but I pray you find a way.

    Like

    • My boyfriends sister in aw has it and it’s in her bones. She is in constant pain, yet gets out of bed every morning and lives her life. I envy her, and I have made it a personal mission of mine to help find a cure, but I have to raise awareness first. I didn’t even know it existed until I met her. Thanks!!

      Like

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

