A day for catching up…

I have already learned that you have to purge all the negative from your life in order to be truly happy.  I’ve been there.  I know that feeling of happiness, and will have it again very soon (hopefully by this afternoon).  However, I made the mistake of trusting someone who sat on my couch and lied to me repeatedly.  Looked me right in the eye and lied.  Then announced for all the world to hear, that she was my very best friend.  Well, her life is an absolute train wreck.  I’m watching, everyday, as she digs herself deeper and deeper and she’s spiraling out of control.  I have forgiven myself for being a fool and I have forgiven her, as she’s obviously unstable and a perpetual liar, she no longer can decipher truth from fiction.  I can feel my life settling back into that comfortable, happy, stress free place, and I like this feeling.  It means I’m back on track.  I was momentarily distracted, but that’s done.  I will no longer allow anyone to bring their troubles into my home, as it does put a dent in my way of life.  I have figured out how to be truly happy.  Those bringing problems to my doorstep, in an attempt to have me help fix them, are perfectly capable of fixing their problems on their own.  If I can do it, so can they.  And I did it by myself, so they can too.  It’s a matter of looking within instead of placing blame.  It really is that simple. 

So, I will fully admit that I invited this crap right in.  Well, now I’m kicking it out.  I no longer feel sorry for these grown adults making stupid decisions.  They have to learn from their mistakes.  I can’t solve all their problems for them, nor do I even want to.  I’ve got a son to raise and priorities.  They are not one of them.  I’ve got a man who loves me, and who I happen to be head over heels in love with.  Why jeopardize that for this nonsense?  It’s not worth it at all.

Today, I will spend my day reading, catching up on blogs and perhaps writing.  This book isn’t going to write itself…

I hope you all have a great day!  Happy Blogging!

PLH4 Always!!

~Kate

5 thoughts on “A day for catching up…

  1. I could not agree more with you, having been in the same situation. I’m not here to fix others but I do invite in those who are willing to fix themselves and offer plenty of support while they do it. Don’t beat yourself up over it, you were being a friend, but some don’t realize that being a friend does not mean you have to put up with crap coming into your life either. The hard part is finding others who think the same and want to surround themselves with positive actions rather than drama and negativity.

    Like

    • E.X.A.C.T.L.Y!!!!!! It’s as simple (or as complex) as that. I can be your best friend, but if you continue to knock on my door with constant negativity, after I’ve given you all the advice I can, what other options do I have? I’m now you’re worst enemy, all because you (she) simply cannot take accountability for her actions, and chooses to blame her whole life’s mistakes on me. Um… I’ve only known her for mere months. How is ANY of this MY fault? Oh… because I’m adult enough to know that it’s easier to tell the truth than it is to lie and then have to remember what lie I told and to whom. It’s all so negative. I’m not saying I wasn’t ever in her shoes. In fact, I was very much in her shoes at one point in my life. But I learned from my mistakes and am a better person for it. These people… I refuse to judge them, because like I said, I was once there too, but they are driving me mad!!! They are grown adults who need to learn to accept accountability for their mistakes. Instead, this particular woman feels the need to keep lying and making the same mistakes, and insists on blaming me. Ok. Blame me. I’ve got no problem with that. However, this is ALL going to catch up with her some day, as it did me. And maybe then she will turn her life around and change her ways. I won’t judge, but I won’t be a punching bag either.

      Like

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

