Um…never

Why, Thank You?

What’s the best (or rather, worst) backhanded compliment you’ve ever received? If you can’t think of any — when’s the last time someone paid you a compliment you didn’t actually deserve?

 

I try to be as helpful and as honest as I possibly can, all the time.  If I get a compliment, you can bet your butt I deserve it.  When I ignored my panic and jumped into volunteering, I was accused of taking things that  were being donated (not true).  I was the one bringing the donations from one spot to the next.  The girls running the organization were inundated with cleaning supplies and wanted to do something for me for all my help, so they did send me home with a couple bottles of dish detergent.  And because my picture was I the paper under the article of how much people were being helped, outsiders (those not volunteering) assume I was taking advantage.  Little do they know I was bring lunches to the volunteers, and running errands to get more supplies.  I work hard.  Not to get compliments, but to the point I do.  It feels good.  No backhanded compliments, or taking credit where it wasn’t due.  If someone ever complimented me on something, I’d explain the confusion and give them a chance to give credit to the person who deserved it.  That’s just how I roll.

 

Happy Blogging and have a great day!!

~Kate

 

2 thoughts on “Um…never

    • Yup. I couldn’t have said it better myself. The only thing I gained from the whole experience of volunteering was a new way of thinking and brought my son along with me, so that he, too, could see the value of helping thy neighbors. I’d like to say that’s all, but these are HUGE. For both of us. I feel so much better when I’m out doing something for others and now I’ve got my 11 year old thinking and doing the same. Yea… and I’m the jerk here. Blah blah blah. The hate mail goes, unread, directly to the spam folder and then with a swish, she shoots! She scores!! Garbage goes directly into the garbage bin where it belongs. 🙂

      Like

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

