Kudos to my parents!!!

Daily Prompt:Head Turners

We often hear strange snippets of conversation as we walk through public spaces. When was the last time you overheard something so interesting, ridiculous, or disturbing you really wanted to know what it was all about?

 

I’m probably the odd duck in this prompt too.  I was raised to be polite and mind my own business.  If 2 people are having a conversation, and it seems juicy, odds are, it’s gossip.  No thanks.  Unless or until they call me into the conversation, I carry on, doing whatever it was I was doing.  I don’t want to eavesdrop, because perhaps they are talking about someone I don’t even know.  What if I assume they are talking about someone else, and I continue the negative cycle by repeating what I heard, only it’s all wrong, because they weren’t talking about the person I thought?  Who ends up looking like an idiot? Yup.  That’d be me.  I have a new saying.  Of course, wipe your feet before you come into my home, but leave the drama and gossip outside as well.  I don’t like it.  I don’t want to participate.  And honestly, I just don’t care.  My life is fulfilling enough.  I don’t need to hear the latest on what Suzie did to her hair or how Jim broke up with his girlfriend.  This is all just clutter that takes up space in my brain where I could be housing something more positive.  So, a sincere thanks to my parents for raising me to NOT be a busy body.  And if the conversation’s about me?  What other’s think of me is none of my business.

Hope you all have a great day!!

~Kate

3 thoughts on “Kudos to my parents!!!

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

