Where the heck is Easy Street?!

I had to go get my car inspected this morning, and the mechanic had a sticker on his door asking “Where the heck is Easy Street?”  So, thank you Dave, for prompting this blog.  Easy Street, believe it or not, is right outside your door.  It’s all just a matter of perception.  If you’re constantly looking or waiting for the other shoe to drop, you’re never going to find Easy Street.  However, if you stop looking for that shoe, and live your life now, in the moment, you have reached Easy Street.   Life was not meant to be easy, no matter your religious denomination.  Life is nothing more than a series of tests.  You pass the test, you move on to the next.  You fail, and you’re tested again, repeatedly, until you do finally pass.  But at no point in time was anything ever made to be easy.  What do we learn from easy?  What do we gain?  Absolutely nothing.  Well, we might learn how to be lazy, which then leads to sense of entitlement, but that’s hardly learning at all.  Life is about learning, making mistakes, more learning so as not to repeat those mistakes, and so on.  It’s also about kindness.  Why is this world so full of hate, anger, hostility, violence, secrets, lies and negativity?  I want to live in a world, again, where my grandchildren have to ask me what war was.  And what do I say?  It was a power trip?  One country felt threatened so they had to go kill innocent people to prove they were superior.  I want to be a part of this wave blanketing the earth.  The blanket is made of peace, love, respect, positivity, encouragement, kindness and happiness.  I’ve created the home with those specific ingredients.  I just wish I possessed the power to share my blanket.  I don’t like to see anger or frustration in any form.  Its totally unnecessary and solves nothing.  Love on the other hand, has the potential to make a total stranger feel better.  I’m ALL FOR helping anyone in need.  If more people would change their perception, we might just have a chance at turning this world around.  What happened to love thy neighbor?  Well maybe they’re loud late at night, and instead of walking over and asking them to keep it down, you let the anger fester and the poison run through your veins until you reach a point where there’s an all out brawl between the two of you.  I’m happy to say we are surrounded by awesome neighbors on all sides.  If we renew our lease it will be partly because of them.  They go out of their way to be kind and considerate.  Knowing I have Ryan, the volume goes down at a reasonable hour, we are always met with a friendly hello and we ALL look out for each other.  I like it this way.  This is how the whole world should be!!

My day is done, as far as my “To Do” list, and I still managed to make someone else’s day.  Do you know what it feels like to make a stranger genuinely smile?  If not, you should try it.  And not for recognition!!  For the simple fact that you have the capability of doing so.  I hope someone made you smile today, and I also hope you chose to pay it forward.  The world needs more of this!!  So join in already!  Know that nothing will ever come easy, but I’m more than willing to share my blanket with all of you.  Have a good day fellow bloggers!!

~Kate…an exhausted, fulfilled, grateful, blanket sharing, Kate.

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

