Pain is my teacher

Daily Prompt: Pains and Gains

Do you agree with Jane Fonda’s favorite exercise motto, “no pain, no gain?” Is it impossible to attain greatness without considerable hardship?

 

I don’t want to say it’s impossible, but I do believe that if we want to achieve greatness of any kind, we must have to go through considerable hardships, often times very painful.  Not just physical pain, but emotional as well.  The path I’m currently on is exactly where I want to be.  It took great pain to get here.  I did however have an incredible support system who refused to let me fall.  Pain is more often than not a great teacher.  It sucks… ALWAYS, but the outcome is worth it.

My son is in karate, and often times brought to tears because the stretching hurts.  The Sensei’s motto?  If it hurts it works!  That means you’re doing it right.  BUT… if you find yourself in the company of “friends” who cause you constant headaches, perhaps you are in the wrong company.  I suppose you have to measure the lesson with the pain.  If the pain seems feasible to what you are trying to achieve, than yes, it’s probably worth it.  If not, than what you’re after might not be worth it.

I don’t think “No pain no gain,” but I do believe pain can be a great teacher.

~Happy blogging everyone!!

~Kate

 

3 thoughts on “Pain is my teacher

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

