Don’t care…

Daily Prompt: The Mirror Crack’d

You wake up one morning to a world without mirrors. How does your life — from your everyday routines to your perception of yourself — change?

 

My only obstacle would be applying eyeliner.  That’s it.  I very rarely look into mirrors.  Not because I don’t like who I see, but because regardless of who’s looking back, it’s just my transportation for the time being.  So, maybe you’ve got a Mercedes Benz body and love to check it out on a regular basis.  And here I am with a VW Beetle.  No big deal.  If I don’t care how I look, you shouldn’t either.  I can’t stand those morning exercise shows with high energy people.  It makes me want to throw something at the tv.  I am absolutely fine being me.  If and when I feel out of shape, I do something about it. 

Now, my son on the other hand…  he is FOREVER checking himself out in the mirror.  He’s a good looking kid and he knows it.  I’m going to have to put a stop to this pretty soon.  It was cute and funny at first… Now?  I want to throw something at HIM!

Happy Blogging everyone!! Hope you have a great day!

~Kate

8 thoughts on “Don’t care…

    • My son is forever looking in the mirror. I have taught him many things so far. One of which: women are not “hot” they are beautiful. They are not a piece of meat, and despite their outer appearances, most are very sensitive. So, find the beauty in a woman and express it… often. My son is a gentleman, and I will continue to ensure he stays this way. He looks in the mirror not because he’s good looking and is fond of himself, but because he doesn’t like what he sees. He went through a phase where he was plucking out his eye lashes and eye brows to inflict pain. We are over that phase thank God. And he’s starting to realize he’s perfect exactly as he is. I want him to see this everyone though. Just because a girl might be over weight doesn’t mean her soul isn’t beautiful. We’ll get there. My son is already far more enlightened than any other kid his age (and his father for that matter). I have not one single doubt that he’s going to make one woman very happy someday.

      Like

  1. Well, I believe there’s no need to be a body like Mercedes Benz which only deserves the chance to be looked up itself. Beauty doesn’t come from outside its from inside. Kids know it well, they love themselves, however they are. They don’t find mistakes in themselves. We adults tends to do that. I hope so..

    Regards,
    Swetank (from Being Bettr) 🙂

    Like

    • I agree. Which is exactly why you won’t find me obsessing over some aspect of my body in a mirror. I am who I am. If you judge me on looks alone, I feel sorry for you, because you would have found a great friend in me. Ask any of my friends… I’m a good person, and they all know it. I don’t a mirror to reassure myself on a daily basis. I’m comfortable in this mode of transportation.

      Like

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

