What happened to PG movies?

My dad is actually the one who brought who this up.  The last movie I took Ryan to see (I believe) was The Lego Movie, and it was rated PG13.  Lego’s? PG13?  Really?  It was because of all the violence.  Now, WHY does there have to be violence in a Lego movie???  I ask this, because as we’re sitting down to watch T.V. yesterday evening, I see the previews for “Annabeth.”  (A modern Chucky movie, but it’s a girl doll.) AWESOME!  Thanks for showing THAT preview as we’re about to eat dinner.  Thank God Ryan wasn’t in the room.  And why do they have to show such horror previews so early in the day?  Save them for later in the evening when children are sleeping!  What if I was in the bathroom and Ryan was watching T.V.?  I wouldn’t have seen it, but Ryan would have, and he’d be afraid to leave his bedroom … AGAIN. 

I just don’t understand why the need for such violence I guess.  A simple Lego’s movie requires parental guidance.  Not that I would leave him in there by himself, but it’s the principal.  Once he see’s the movies, he wants them on DVD.  Now how do I ensure he doesn’t see the Annabeth previews?  Keep the T.V. off from now until the movie starts?  Then something else is bound to take its place.

I think we’re going to see the new shark/dolphin movie with Morgan Freeman this weekend.  I’ll look it up, but I’m pretty sure that one’s rated G.  I only got a quick glimpse of the very end, and it seemed to be a pretty good movie.  I just want a wholesome family movie that we can take him to see!  Is that really asking too much in this day and age?  He’s getting older and these cartoon movies don’t cut it anymore.  But you can bet your ass I’m not taking him to see Annabeth!  What the hell is wrong with movie producers?!  They disgust me.  We LOVE going to the movies!!  And they’re going to ruin it for us.

Okay… that’s all.  Why this is on my mind at 6:00am I have no clue.  I was fuming about it since last night, so I guess I’m not over it yet. Sorry for the rant…(I grew up watching the Brady Bunch and Leave it to Beaver!  Why can’t they bring those shows back?!) 

~Kate…one highly annoyed, Kate.

2 thoughts on “What happened to PG movies?

  1. Good one, Kate!

    And for a refreshing change in daily viewing, your stodgy old fart of a father highly recommends MeTV:

    http://metvnetwork.com/schedule

    The worst part of the programming is the cheesy, old-folks commercials.
    E.G. – an overweight, balding, gray haired Henry Winkler – The Fonz – pushing ‘reverse mortgages.’ Or the nonstop blaring of slip-and-fall lawyers.

    You want a blood, guts, sex and violence reality show? Just turn on the 6:00 news.
    For entertainment, yesteryear works just fine for me.

    …X-!

    Like

    • Yea… I thought you’d like this one. And there’s nothing like eating dinner and having your 11 year old son ask what erectile dysfunction is. AWESOME!!!! I think I’m going to accidentally break all the TV’s in this house. What the hell is this world coming to?! If it’s not violence, it’s inappropriate commercials. If it’s not erectile dysfunction, it’s have a happy freaking period. I swear, the concept behind THAT one screams MAN!!! I don’t know a single woman who will admit that there’s anything happy about a period. And all this for children to see, just so we can see what’s going on in the world. Ugh…I HATE TV!!!!!!

      Like

If you can't be kind, be quiet. : ) Have a good day!!

